SSRS Lagniappe


Giving SSRS that lagniappe, takes some skill, knowledge, and a whole lot of patience.
What am I on about? Let’s start with Lagniappe…what is it? Look it up on the interwebs, but basically it’s that little something extra. It might be extra debris on your roast beef po-boy, it might be a little extra shot of whiskey in your drink, it might be that stuff that makes Emeril go Bam!
In this case it’s that thing that makes the report pop…

SSRSLagniappe01

now the fun part is that I challenge anyone to make those loverly gradient rounded corned boxes in SSRS, natively…go ahead, take a few minutes, I will wait…

So, you’re back?  It’s not as easy as it oughta be.  I mean, afterall Excel does it with the flick of a mouse.  Makes you mad, right?  Made me spit fire for a while trying to replicate those loverly gradient rounded boxes.  Finally, I figured out a workaround.  With a little southern engineering and will-power, here’s what I came up with.

1) go to excel or word for that matter or powerpoint, make some boxes in the desired colors etc…

SSRSLagniappe02

repeat as necissary…

now copy it and take it to paint and crop, until you are left with your desired shape in the color you want…

I have a couple that I used…

Blue Box GoldBox LightBlueBox RedBox

As you can see they are not uniform in size…SSRS can control the size, what wew are most concerned about is the gradient and edges.

Now you are going to make a table in SSRS and place these as background images in the required cells. Go ahead, try that out…

What’s that?  The image is just repeating and I cannot get it sized exactly right, and this effing thing sucks!!!  Don’t fear, don’t fret.  So one thing I did was play around with the shapes and I worked very hard at closly matching my size of the object with the text box I was filling.  Don’t worry, Paint does a very good job of allowing you to size the object and generally maintining a very good gradient, etc int he object…

One final piece, I have multiple data elements within each cell…the number of buildings is 1 number and the number of residential units is another…and they are attained with similar groupings in SSRS from my stored proceedure and how did I get them centered vertically and horizontally within each of those.  I used a combination of visibility expressions to decide when to show and when to not show, but I also set a matrix table within each of the cells and hid some of the grouping rows and columns and set thier backgrounds to no color, and finally I set the top cell to top center aligned, and the bottom cell to bottom center aligned…

All in all this demo piece is far from perfect, in that there may be a little off aligned if you look closely, and there’s some elements that are visible that maybe ought not be, but I think you get the point…that with some southern engineering, you to can give your SSRS Reports a little lagniappe with actually a little elbow greese and a little know how…

Good luck!

 

Published by

wattersbill72

Dad, Husband, Brother, Son , Soccer Player/Fan, SharePoint Person, All Around Geek

Leave a Reply

