Boolean expression as a condition for an InfoPath Form


yea, so I have this crazy requirement…

I have like 30 fields that are required on a form.  We have created a ‘warning section’ that must show a warning to the user stating which required fields are not yet filled in.  On the surface not really that big of a deal, only we cannot add ‘code behind’ on this form.  What to do?  Tap into some mad Rulez Skillz and consult the Interwebs for a crazy @$$ expression…

so I built an awesome expression, tested it and bam, not the result I wanted…I tried grouping expressions and no go…back to the drawing board…

well, I have built this expression seems like a shame to let it sit there and waste away…now what?  During troubleshooting I used the expression to populate a field, so I could see that it was setting true or false…then light bulb!!!  I can set a rule on the section to wait for that field to become true, then hide the section…

That is what my friend Keyur calls ‘Bam!’  So finally, I have a warning section that hides or shows properly based ont eh required fields being filled in…nice…

I forgot to add a the expression, it looks a little bit like this

boolean(../my:field1 != “” and ../my:field2 != “” and ../my:field3 != “” and ../my:field4 != “” and ../my:field5 != “” and ../my:field6 != “” and ../my:field7 != “” and ../my:field8 != “” and ../my:field9 != “” and ../my:field10 != “” and ../my:field11 != “” and ../my:field12 != “” and ../my:field13 != “” and ../my:field14 != “” and ../my:field15 != “” and ../my:field16 != “” and ../my:field17 != “” and ../my:field18 != “” and ../my:field19 != “” and ../my:field20 != “” and ../my:field21 != “” and ../my:field22 != “” and ../my:field23 != “” and ../my:field24 != “” and ../my:field25 != “” and ../my:field26 != “” and ../my:field27 != “” and ../my:field28 != “” and ../my:field29 != “” and ../my:field30 != “” and ../my:field32 != “”)

Published by

wattersbill72

Dad, Husband, Brother, Son , Soccer Player/Fan, SharePoint Person, All Around Geek

Leave a Reply

